What are the UNESCO heritage sites in Campania? The list – Immobiliare.it News

There Campania it is a land steeped in millennia-old history and a beauty that enchants visitors from all over the world. What makes this region truly unique are its people UNESCO sitestangible testimony to a thousand-faceted cultural and natural wealth.

So let's dive into the treasures declared world heritage sitesfor a real journey through time.

READ ALSO: What are the UNESCO sites in Lombardy? The complete list

The historic center of Naples

With his 17 square kilometers is the largest in the Old Continent: the historic center of Naplesthe beating heart of the city, it is a labyrinth of winding streets, bustling squares and hidden treasures, which tell of centuries of history and culture.

UNESCO Heritage since 1995 for the extraordinary concentration of monuments, churches, palaces and works of art, it is divided in two by Spaccanapoli and offers suggestive views, such as those over the neighborhoods of Chiaia, Vomero And Posillipo.

READ ALSO: What are the districts of Naples? The complete list from center to suburbs

The Amalfi Coast

A true jewel surrounded by the crystal clear waters of the Tyrrhenian Sea, the Amalfi Coast And recognized by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site in 1997for its natural beauty and valuable interaction between humans and the environment.

A living postcard, dotted with picturesque villages perched on breathtaking cliffs overlooking the sea, enchanting villages like Positano, Amalfi And Ravellowhich capture the imagination with its colorful houses, narrow cobblestone streets and panoramic views.

The Cilento, Vallo di Diano and Alburni National Park

For its exceptional biodiversity and its cultural landscape, the ancient border between the colonies of Magna Graecia and the areas populated by Etruscans and Lucanians, the Cilento, Vallo di Diano and Alburni National Park received recognition UNESCO in 1998and stands out for its archaeological evidence and millennia-old cultural traditions of the scale of the excavations of Paestum and of Velia and of Padula Chartreuse.

The monumental complex of Caserta

Between the Royal Palace of Casertaone of the most majestic and largest royal palaces in the world, the Vanvitellian aqueduct and the San Leucio ComplexThis UNESCO site since 1997 it is one of the main tourist attractions in the region, visited by thousands of people each year.

The Church of Santa Sofia in Benevento

It is one of the most important testimonies of Lombard architecture in southern Italyand, symbol of the history and identity of the city of Benevento.

There Hagia Sophia Church, world heritage site since 2011counts among its most emblematic elements the cryptcontaining the sarcophagus of the sovereign Arechi II.

The archaeological areas of Pompeii, Herculaneum and Torre Annunziata

A unique window onto the ancient Roman world, the Archaeological zones of Pompeii, Herculaneum and Torre Annunziata have been declared sites UNESCO in 1997.

Inside them the Villa of the MysteriesTHE Bicentennial HouseTHE Villa dei Papiri and that of Poppea.

READ ALSO: Italian lyrical singing declared UNESCO heritage: what are the most important theaters in Italy?

The 4 intangible assets of UNESCO

Campania also has intangible assets recognized as a world heritage site by UNESCO:

  • there Mediterranean dietnutritional example to follow;
  • L'The art of Neapolitan pizza makersa means of transmitting Italianness throughout the world;
  • there Transhumancefor its impeccable role in the conservation of biodiversity;
  • THE Nola lilyan exceptional example of popular tradition, which combines religion and culture.

Leave a Comment