What are the 6 districts of Venice and why are they called that? – Immobiliare.it News

Venice keeps among its streets and canals a timeless charm.

A charm that unfolds among its own six sestieri, the historic districts which tell the thousand-year-old history of the Serenissima. Let's discover their story.

The six sestieri: a Roman heritage

The origins of neighborhoods they date back to Roman times, when the Roman camp was divided into four parts, which later became six. Again today, the urban structure of Venice reflects this modelwith the neighborhoods that radiate from the Grand Canal, the beating heart of the city.

here are the six districts:

  • Cannaregio: the northernmost district, once rich in reeds, is characterized by its popular soul and the presence of important churches and palaces.
  • Castle: the easternmost district is also the largest in Venice. Architecturally, it is home to the Basilica of Santi Giovanni e Paolo, the largest church in Venice. The Arsenal and the Naval Museum are also recommended.
  • Dorsoduro: a district with a university character, full of art galleries and museums, including the Peggy Guggenheim collection.
  • Saint Mark: in addition to being named after the city's patron saint, it is also the oldest, one of the most touristy areas of Venice and home to St. Mark's Square, the Basilica and the Campanile. The Palazzo Ducale and its Bridge of Sighs are also very famous.
  • Saint-Polo: the smallest district of Venice, it is a lively sestiere, known for its market and its Rialto Bridge and for its authentic atmosphere. It houses the Scuola Grande di San Rocco and the Basilica of Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari.
  • The Holy Cross: it is located in the northeastern part of the city. It is the only district where cars can circulate, even if only for a short distance.

There the city of Venice also includes:

  • the Giudecca Islands (Dorsoduro): once a place of exile, they offer a suggestive view of the city;
  • San Giorgio Maggiore (San Marco): with its basilica and bell tower, it is a point of reference for sailors;
  • San Michele (Castle): Home to the monumental cemetery of Venice.

READ ALSO: Is Santo Spirito Island in Venice abandoned? How to get there and what to do


THE Venice house numbers are unique for each neighborhoodreaching up to 7000 units.

There the gondola is the typical Venetian boat, used to navigate channels. The cThe so-called “bow iron” of the gondola is intended to balance the boatbalancing the weight of the gondolier at the rear.

THEand the front teeth represent the sestierithe Giudecca the back tooth, the Grand Canal the S shape, the Rialto Bridge the arch over the last bar and the ducal horn the broad upper spiral.

READ ALSO: Ca' Dario: the story of the “cursed” palace in Venice

The neighborhoods of Venice: a unique experience

Each district of Venice offers a unique experience, a microcosm of history, culture and traditions.

To explore them is to immerse yourself in the most authentic soul of the lagoon city, letting yourself be conquered by its timeless charm.

Leave a Comment